I Watched Some Movies… I Swear

Remember a lifetime ago when I told you I would write soon? Probably not. That’s okay, let’s pretend it didn’t happen.

I am writing now though! TADA

So. So far this year, I have seen around 10 new movies. That may not sound like much, but the reality these days is that I work in a rental store where I can watch movies for free after they are released on DVD. Which, while totally awesome, means that I’m still watching movies that may have originally been released in 2014, and I now see very few movies in theaters (because why pay $10 for something I can watch later for free).

BUT, there have been a select few that I just couldn’t wait for. Let’s chat about two of them for a moment.

Jurassic World. If you’re human and you’re alive, you’ve heard about Jurassic World. I grew up watching Jurassic Park. It might even be likely that Jurassic Park was one of the first movies I ever watched. Who knows. Point is, I have seen and loved and cherished Jurassic Park many times. Because of this, naturally I had mixed feelings about Jurassic World when I first heard of it. What will they do next? Everyone’s dead. Will I ever be as scared as I was during that T Rex/ Jeep scene? Or that Raptor/ Kitchen scene? 

If you’re anything like me, you probably were a little skeptical at first too. So let me make this clear right now, it has its differences and it is awesome. One day I’ll have a beautiful post outlining everything about it. For now though, let’s give it 4 stars and call it a day.

starstarstarstar

Moving on because honestly I should be doing so many other things right now. I love this blog and I would probably spend all of my time writing reviews if I could, but it is legitimately so hard to fit this into an every day schedule– or even a once a month schedule apparently. So at this point, my posts are serving solely as a reminder to myself of what I’ve seen and how I’ve felt about it. If you want to know a little secret, I actually have dozens of posts on here that have never been published because of various reasons, but I keep writing them and keep them all in this one location because I have a terrible memory and a love for writing.

So.

Avengers: Age of Ultron was another I decided to splurge on because duh. This sequel (more like installment #11) kept things, for the most part, light and humorous likes its predecessor. I enjoyed the jokes, especially the jabs at Captain America because he deserves it every time. Toward the middle of the movie, however, it did start adding in some darker elements similar to what we saw in Winter Soldier and Iron Man 3, which happen to be my two least favorite Marvel movies of all time FYI.

Every character was given plenty of screen time… some more deserved than others (I’m looking at you Hawkeye). And of course, because we have to pack as much as we can into two hours as possible, every character was given their own to-do lists. Hawkeye gets a family. Thor worries about Natalie and all of Asgard. Iron Man creates an AI. Cap thinks about his friends, his past, and his future some more because what else is he going to do? and Hulk and Black Widow fall in love. I mean what. Was that necessary?

Anyway, Scarlet Witch makes her entrance and proves to us all over again that the X-Men are the greatest characters in Marvel history (though they did mess with their stories, but we all know that that was only because of the rights battle over using the term “mutant” (right?)). So for her, I’d give all the stars. For them all together, I just can’t. We’ll call it a three.

starstarstar

Leave a Reply

